Canadian Securities Administrators

The Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA) is comprised of Canada's 13 provincial and territorial securities regulators that are responsible for investor protection and market integrity in their respective jurisdictions.

The CSA's objective is to improve, coordinate and harmonize regulation of the Canadian capital markets.  It also aims to achieve consensus on policy decisions that affect Canada's capital market and its participants and to work collaboratively in the delivery of regulatory programs across Canada.

To carry out its responsibilities more efficiently and reduce duplicative and unnecessary regulatory burdens, the CSA relies on:

  • Self-regulatory organizations (SROs), such as the Investment Industry Regulatory Organization of Canada (IIROC) - the national SRO which oversees all investment dealers
  • Market infrastructure entities and compensation funds, such as exchanges, clearing agencies, and the Canadian Investor Protection Fund (CIPF)

The CIPF Board Chair and the President and Chief Executive Officer meet with the CSA upon request to report on CIPF activities.